Rail Runner

The Observations of a Horse Racing Enthusiast

4 Responses to “Haskell: Making His Own Luck”

  1. I don’t have it in writing, but I saw WINSLOW HOMER doing that in the Jim Dandy. I’d have taken all of that 12-1 morning line. I definitely feel he’s a major threat in the Travers with both A LITTLE WARM and MINER’S RESERVE due to bounce like rubber balls.

    I call FIRST DUDE the winner of the BC Marathon!

    I’m wondering how much that stumble will take out of LOOKIN AT LUCKY? I’d prefer to see him freshened coming off this daylight/dominant win, given a prep in the Goodwood @ Santa Anita, and then on to the Breeders’ Cup Classic.

    TRAPPE SHOT will eventually develop into a top-notch colt…he’s very close right now. I believe his stumble in the Long Branch caused his tardy beginning Sunday and left him wanting in the Haskell stretch run. I’m thinking Pennsylvania Derby or Super Derby to give him a confidence-building win and enough time to recover from this cycle. Then on to the BC…my preference would be the Dirt Mile.

    Now we know why ICE BOX didn’t change leads…he’s not right. Give him the rest of the year off and bring him back in the Donn H. preparing for a very big 4y.o. campaign.

    As for the Diana, it was a thrilling finish. While PROVISO was game, I wonder how much chance any of these gals has in the BC F&M Turf against TUSCAN EVENING or any of the Euros with solid form come over. On my radar is LADY SHAKESPEARE but she’s being handled like fine China (no works following her New York H. win 20Jun) and needs a firm course. FOREVER TOGETHER may just not be as good as her past results suggest, but clearly she’s right with the top U.S. turf females.

    • Hey Rob!

      First Dude winning the Breeders’ Cup Marathon is a wonderful idea and certainly not a stretch of the imagination but I think his being be sent to the Classic is more likely.

      With Lookin At Lucky skipping the Travers because of his fever it looks like he’ll be getting a breather no matter how it pans out. I just hope they decide to keep him on the east coast to race on the dirt for his Breeders’ Cup Classic prep so I can go see him. Mike Pegram is tossing around the idea of running him in the Pennsylvania Derby I hear.

      Trappe Shot ran a really good race in the Haskell, much better than I expected. It will be very interesting to watch his career develope.

      The Diana was a thrilling finish, I agree! I love those types of races where it all comes down to so many top class contenders all on the line at once. Tuscan Evening is a definite standout right now for the F&M Turf and I think she’s good enough to win it over the fillies/mares that ran in the Diana. It looked to me like Forever Together had some trouble finding her gear in the homestretch of the Diana. She looked like she was floundering just a bit and then seemed to find her gear and plunged forward.

      Do you know anything about the blogger error that keeps coming up for OpenID users? I can’t comment on any Blogger blogs (for about a week now) and Google has nothing I can find that helps.

      • Brian,

        I can’t shed any light on the error that you get, sorry.

        RE: LOOKIN AT LUCKY, I heard the PA Derby as well. It would give him plenty of time to recover from the Haskell ship/win/ship home. Plus, in this economy it’s tough to pass up $1,000,000 with the colt that leads the division. Could be a perfect prep for the BC vs. his peers, but the big negative will be lots of back & forth from Cali to the east coast prepping for the biggest race of his career.

        RE: FOREVER TOGETHER…she stumbled at the start of the Diana and that could have made her a bit tender down the lane. Have you read about any Euro females coming over for the F&M Turf?

    • I haven’t really heard much about any of the Euro females targeting the Breeders’ Cup. As far as I know Midday and Stacelita could be heading over as well as the Japanese mare Red Desire. Not sure what the plan is with Dar Re Mi but if she comes over she’ll probably try the Turf against the boys.

Leave a Reply

 
