Rail Runner

The Observations of a Horse Racing Enthusiast

The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes

Posted by Brian Appleton on May 13, 2011


The Black-Eyed Susan Stakes was first inaugurated at Pimlico Race Course in 1919 and was won by Milkmaid in the same year Sir Barton became the first American Triple Crown winner. Run as the Pimlico Oaks until 1952 the race was then renamed the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes in honor of the Maryland state flower and also to make a connection with the famous blanket of Black-Eyed Susan’s that are presented to the winner of the Preakness Stakes. In its first year of running the Black-Eyed Susan was contested at a distance of 1 1/16 miles but has bounced around from 1 1/16, 1 3/16 and 1 1/8 miles until 1989 when the race was set at 1 1/8 miles and has stayed that way ever since.

Several fillies have used the Black-Eyed Susan to cement their status as leading three year old performers during the race’s 86 running’s including Silverbulletday, Serena’s Song, Davona Dale, Gallorette, Twilight Tear, Vagrancy and Nellie Morse, all of whom were named divisional champions at the conclusion of their sophomore campaigns. Sixteen fillies in total have won the Black-Eyed Susan Stakes and gone on to be named divisional champion. [Continue reading the entire post here on Horse Racing Nation]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: